Best Fantasy Books Reviewers



Robert Jordan

The Wheel of Time Series

The Eye of the World

Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time series is one of the first true epic fantasies of the modern era. Similar to Goodkind's work, the time in your life that you read this series is important. It is not right to judge it against modern, more contemporary works, which so strongly borrow from and adapt the themes put forth in this very series (The Name of the Wind certainly does so), as it will make the series itself seem less inspired than it truly is. No one can deny, however, that Robert Jordan was a craftsman, who meticulously created an incredible world massive enough to house the enormity of this epic arc.

The Wheel of Time is part adventure, part coming of age, part Sword and Sorcery vs. pure evil, and altogether just powerful and legendary. With over a dozen books in the series, this is a lengthy one—too lengthy, in fact, for Jordan to finish in his lifetime. Most readers agree, however, that Brandon Sanderson finished the series incredibly well (rather recently, too) making it a "must read" for people who love tales of epic adventure.

Buy on Amazon Buy on iTunes

The Wheel of Time turns and Ages come and go, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the Age that gave it birth returns again. In the Third Age, and Age of Prophecy, the World and Time themselves hang in the balance. What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow. More on Goodreads.